Turkish GP: Mercedes-Benz in the 2009 Formula 1 World Championship


Stuttgart, Germany, May 29, 2009

Prior to the Turkish Grand Prix, Brawn Mercedes driver Jenson Button leads the drivers‘ ranking with 51 points ahead of his team mate Rubens Barrichello with 35 points; Lewis is ninth with nine points. In the Constructors‘ Championship, Brawn GP lead with 86 points and Vodafone McLaren Mercedes is fifth with 13 points.

Last Sunday, Brawn GP drivers Jenson Button and Rubens Barrichello took a 1-2 victory in the Monaco Grand Prix for their team, their third 1-2 in the sixth race of the season with the Mercedes-Benz Formula 1 V8 engine FO 108W. It was the fifth win of the year for Jenson Button and his third in a row he achieved with the same engine – a new record in Formula 1 after Mercedes-Benz was the first manufacturer to win two consecutive races with one engine in 2005 (Spanish GP/Monaco GP, V10 engine).

Giancarlo Fisichella drove his Force India Mercedes to a ninth-place finish in Monaco, missing the first point for the Force India Team by a narrow margin. Vodafone McLaren Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton who had started from the back of the field came home 12th.

A Mercedes powered Brawn GP was in the lead for 74 percent – almost three fourths - of all driven race laps of the season so far.

Mercedes-Benz balance in the 2009 Formula 1 World Championship
(after six of 17 races):

Wins: 5 (of 6) – Jenson Button (Brawn Mercedes/5)
Pole positions: 4 (of 6) - Jenson Button (Brawn Mercedes/4)
Podium positions: 9 (of 18) - Jenson Button (Brawn Mercedes/6); Rubens Barrichello (Brawn Mercedes/3)
Fastest race laps: 3 (of 6) - Jenson Button (Brawn Mercedes/1); Rubens Barrichello (Brawn Mercedes/2)
WC points: 99 (of 234/42.3 percent)
Lead laps: 256 (of 346/74 percent)
Lead kms: 1,172 (of 1,640/71.5 percent)

Copyright © 2009, Mercedes-Benz-Blog. All rights reserved.

Bookmark the permalink. RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply


Swedish Greys - a WordPress theme from Nordic Themepark. Converted by LiteThemes.com.